Judicial Foreclosure Available: Yes
Non-judicial Foreclosure Available: No
Advertising Notice of the time and place of sale must be advertised once a week for three consecutive weeks, with the last publication no more than 14 and no less than 7 days before the foreclosure day.
Notice must be sent to the defaulting borrower within five days of the first ad.
The sale must be at the courthouse, although the district judge may order the sale on the premises or at another location.
The sale is by public auction to the highest bidder. The sheriff will at once give the buyer at the foreclosure sale a certificate of purchase. The certificate of purchase is all the buyer gets until the borrower's redemption rights expire.
The foreclosure sale must be confirmed by the court after the sale. The court has discretion to refuse to honor the sale and require a minimum bid or force the crediting of the market value against what was owed on the loan. Once confirmed, a sheriff's deed can be issued and it will vest good and perfect title in the foreclosure buyer. However, the court may specify as a condition of confirmation that the redemption period may run first, which is 12 months unless reduced.
A judgment can stay un-enforced up to five years, at which point it becomes dormant, but is subject to revival for another two years. Afterward the judgment is barred from enforcement and the court records must reflect that fact.
A deficiency judgment may be obtained for the difference between the foreclosure sale price and the amount due on the loan. Deficiencies are common. However, the court may refuse to confirm a sale where the price is not equal to the judgment, which helps prevent abusive deficiency judgments.
The borrower can redeem any real property sold at foreclosure at any time up to 12 months from the date of sale by paying the holder of the certificate of purchase the purchase price plus costs and interest. If the judge finds the property is abandoned or not occupied in good faith, then the redemption period is six months. Lien creditors must undertake redemption within three months. The former borrower's redemption period may be reduced if the lien is only one-third of the original indebtedness. The on year goes down to six months. However, the court may conduct a hearing on market value, and if the debt is one third of the court-perceived market value, then 12 month for redemption may be allowed before the court will confirm the sale.
Judicial Foreclosure Available: Yes
Non-judicial Foreclosure Available: Effectively, no
Kentucky has a rigid rule on foreclosures: no out-of-court foreclosures are valid other than voluntary sales by the borrower. A deed of trust sale, a power of sale clause in a mortgage or sale by a trustee will not work in Kentucky . The only forced foreclosure sale that is permitted is one pursuant to a court order. Also, common law or strict foreclosure is forbidden in Kentucky . The lender must be prepared to engage in litigation to foreclose in the state of Kentucky . Often the lender can win by default or summary judgment but, if not, the case is tried to a jury.
On the other hand, if the borrower abandons the home, the lender may obtain possession of the property once the borrower goes into default. The lender may operate the property for the benefit of the borrower. Any income produced goes to the lender, not the borrower, but will be credited toward paying off what the borrower owes. If the borrower does not abandon the home, the lender may not take possession until the court confirms the foreclosure sale.
Prior to a foreclosure sale, the property must be appraised. If the actual foreclosure sale price is less than two-thirds of the appraised value, then for one year after the sale the borrower has the right to redeem the property from the buyer for the buyer's purchase price plus ten per cent interest. Interestingly, the borrower's right to redeem may also be sold.
In Kentucky, it is possible to obtain a deficiency judgment against the borrower for the difference between the amount the borrower owed on the old loan and the foreclosure sale price, but only if the borrower was personally served with the lawsuit, or failed to answer.